North Yorkshire

The local welfare assistance scheme for North Yorkshire is called the Local Assistance Fund

It provides support for vulnerable adults to move into or remain in the community and to help families under exceptional pressure to stay together. For more information see:

and the following documents1 that you can download  from the links on the right hand side of this page:

  • Guide to the assessment criteria
  • Guide to the assessment grading
How to apply

You cannot apply direct to the council. You can apply through authorised agencies that will provide support to those who are eligible and are identified as vulnerable. The website gives details of how to contact the council to find out who the authorised agencies are.


North Yorkshire County Council covers the following council areas:

  • Craven
  • Hambleton
  • Harrogate
  • Richmondshire
  • Ryedale
  • Scarborough
  • Selby
  • 1. as provided to CPAG in 2014