CPD accreditation and National Occupational Standards

CPD accreditation

Law Society accreditation

All our courses are Law Society accredited and carry Continuing Professional Development (CPD) hours, so are suitable for solicitors (and for anyone who needs to satisfy the requirements in the Legal Services Commission’s Quality Mark). Please quote our provider reference number CPD/KX/CPAG.

Our courses are also approved by the Institute of Legal Executives and the UK College of Family Mediators.

Bar Standards Board accreditation

In order to maintain and enhance the quality of legal services that they offer, barristers need to update and develop specialist areas of knowledge and ensure that their skills are regularly refreshed.

Most of our courses are Bar Standards Board accredited and carry CPD hours.

If you wish to claim CPD hours for Bar Standards Board accreditation, please indicate you wish to claim CPD hours on your booking form, and ensure that you complete the Bar Council register provided when you attend the course.

Charge for CPD accreditation

There is an additional charge of £25 for anyone claiming CPD accreditation from the Law Society or Bar Standards Board. This charge help us recover some of the cost of having our courses accredited by those organisations.

General Social Care Council

Social workers are required to provide evidence of ongoing learning and development to maintain their registration status. We understand from the GSCC guidance that our courses are appropriate for ongoing learning and can be counted. We have had confirmation from the GSCC that social workers may choose to count CPAG courses towards the GSCC requirement to undertake 90 hours or 15 days of training which will advance their professional development over each three year period of registration.

National Occupational Standards

National Occupational Standards (NOS) have been developed for the Legal Advice sector following consultation with those working in the sector. They outline the knowledge and skills needed to deliver advice.

NOS are divided into units. There are units which describe the standards of performance expected of advisers, regardless of any specialist area of law they may be working in (LA Units 1-30). There are also units which describe the knowledge required when working in a particular area, such as welfare rights, or with a particular client group, such as students (LA units 31-62). You can find all NOS, including the legal advice NOS at www.ukstandards.co.uk

Our courses cover the skills and knowledge required to demonstrate meeting the NOS, and we have mapped our courses against the NOS.